Enduring the Pain with a Smile

I recently was corresponding with a friend who might have MS and some other complications, and how we both seemed to be having problems finding doctors that truly listen… I had known only one person with MS, ad she was ever one of my heroes, and wrote her this:

As a child, in my Gram’s church, there was a friend of her’s- Louise, whom had MS, and other illnesses, she needed special crutches & leg braces to get around, but she would still want to race to the church any child with crutches with a huge smile, as she loved so much the laughter of children, I learned later while I stayed with my Grandparents while going to Syracuse University…

I remember her once telling me, when I had crunches from a bad fall; “It isn’t the physical pain that hurts, I have grown to endure that, as she reached down and picked a yellow tulip, it is the beauty that surrounds me that helps me want to see more beauty, the simple things, a child’s laughter, the music at Church, or to go and spend a day at the museum full of such artworks, reading good books and your Grandmother’s chocolate chip cookies after church, with a wink”, and then she challenged me another race from the church to the parish after, where they had refreshments…

She is one of my heroes…

4 Responses

  1. Sometimes it’s really that simple, isn’t it? I feel a little stupid for not thinking of this myself/earlier, though.

    • Thanks for the Comment Roulette… 😉

  2. Great idea, but will this work over the long run?

    • This is an area I hope to add to once in a while, to highlight some of the “Special” people or heroes in my life… I got thinking to this one too, just how many heroes could one have? In answer, I got thinking to some of the people that I also find I look up to for their abilities or special views that influence that could also be in Business, or maybe people I just happen to meet, in my life…

Leave a Reply

