Lessons learned this past decade…

Been sitting for a bit of time, watching the snow fall, thinking to its silence, thinking to these last ten years… So many things have happened, the Good, the Bad, Beginnings and Ends, new and Old, Friends gained and Friends lost, and the things I have learned of life, people, tech, nature, politics, and of trust…

I remember once, back I College, I had written a poem, “My Castle of Silence” where “Brick by Brick, Side by Side”, I created walls of silence around me- the “Bricks” being my experiences of life… This was mostly to think to my applying myself to learning in college, instead of goofing off and just partying and chasing women, so I would be able to take more then just blurred memories with me from those years spent at college…

I sit here thinking more deeply into this concept, and comparing it to the things I have learned this past decade… So many lessons, so many things attempted, learned from, things that worked and didn’t work, but the deepest lesson was more to do with people and trust…

During this last ten years, I lost those whom where my Hero’s, those that I looked up to with the utmost respect and wished I could be somewhat like them in some way, those I respected in life the deepest and most for their achievements, abilities, knowledge… Ever will they be within my heart and mind, and the examples and stories I will use with them in them as guides for myself and others- some examples that make me laugh, and some that bring me to the edge of tears in their being gone… So I want to remember them somewhat of telling some of their stories, some as I sip my morning mug of espresso to post within my Blog, as it is through them those lessons learned or influenced me to whom I am wanting or becoming as a person… Now it seems so few of them are left, my list of hero’s gone to rest…

I have learned not to always give complete blind trust to all, there are more then two kind of friends, Good friends and Best friends, but depths or degree’s of friendship and trust one gives and receives… Trust is something people need to earn, not something you are born with, and when given too freely, some will take advantage of it…

So many people are not what they portray themselves to be anymore, it seems so many are sheep with canine teeth that portray themselves to be friends or honest business people waiting to use you, or hide behind masks with painted smiles upon their faces… So with that, I have learned in Business, to always use contracts, no more trust of a shake of hands, and not to give to others the “Full recipe” of an idea or within an estimate or bid of the work needing to be done… There are just too many people out there that are truly out for themselves, and not really wiling to help others, which I find to be so sad…

Also learned that you can’t just have blind faith that people will do as they say, and you sometimes have to think to yourself and not just to others… To take your own destiny into your own hands and make things happen… A drawing won’t happen unless you get the pencil and paper out and start drawing to make that picture, nor does it happen if you only pray…

So I trust in myself, and start to lay the bricks again, to a path or road for my own future, of dreams and goals I have, to leave behind some of the sheep with canine teeth, and stray away from this local flock, to find my own patch of green grass in southern pastures, where one might be able to hear the Ocean off in the distance…

Leave a Reply

