Office Mascot, why they’re great to have around.

In this day of Home business and offices, and self-employment, I often talk with others small business owners who have an “Office Mascot”… Now an office mascot can come in various shapes, sized and colors with different characteristics, but best of all they tend to be the ones you can talk to and they almost always agree with what you have to say!!! I know a lot of people that have an office mascot and they love having them around…

I’ve had my studio now since 93, when I finished going to Syracuse University, I came back to my home town family farm where I had converted the old “Chicken Shack” into a small studio, with a woodstove, electric, skylight, insolated and enough room for a loft bed, drawing table, ten drawer unit and my computer desk… And I finished off the outside area with two flower gardens and a slate stone walkway around the front and to one side of the studio… Was real nice and well thought out, this would be where I started my full-time business of freelance art, illustration and design…

Little did I know, my Mom had not gotten me a Class Ring for graduating, but she knew I wanted to get another dog, as mine had passed away my first year of college. She had found the kind of dog I had always wanted too, a Saint Bernard, and I named him Marley… Later I would also get a cat for the Marley, as I felt he was big enough to have his “own pet”, so brought one of the barn kittens in for him to play with, naming it “Buddy”…

Now Marley grew to become a 175 pound Saint Bernard, who could put his paws on my shoulders and look me straight in the eye, and was a great office mascot, barking when someone pulled into the driveway, and was able to also hop up during the summer to put his paws on the top of the Dutch door and look out and enjoy the breeze… Faithful companion, he would follow me everywhere, and enjoyed most to hang out with me in the studio… I tried to teach him to bring in firewood during the winter, but instead, he would berry the logs in the side yard snowdrifts…

The one nice thing about having an Office Mascot, is they always agree with what you say, and never give much of an argument… They are always willing to listen to you, and rarely are they a business problem, unless your client is allergic to pet hair…

The only problem I did have with him, was instead of chewing the normal things a puppy would chew, he chose to chew or move around larger things then sneakers or socks… He chose to chew or move around furniture, Drawing table, my stool, chewed on the computer chair and once in the house, while I was out, dragging the sofa and a recliner chair around, chewing on doorways and table legs… To this my Mom was not too thrilled with, so I needed to get him a fenced in kennel that I installed just to the right of the studio, where I could put him while I was off meeting with clients or doing what have you…

He would love to ride in the back seat of my jeep, ears and jowls flapping in the wind and be the “Guard dog” of my ride, slobbering any who came near… He also took a liking to trying to be a “Hunting Dog”, chasing rabbits and chipmunks around the property, and would sit for hours keeping an eye on a chipmunk hole, waiting for the little furry creature to come out to “Play with him”… And that little kitten, he would scoop up in his mouth, walk over near the woodstove, lay down and spit the now slobbery kitten between his paws and g to sleep with it under his jowls, and the kitten would follow him around the property, and he would even go look for it, when I would say, “Marley, where’s your Buddy?”

The only problem with having a cat as an office mascot is they enjoy sleeping in warm places, often on your portable keyboard, when you leave the office, or behind the computer CPU, where the fan is drawing in air, and often cat hair with it… They also tend to not think to walk across your work, leaving sometimes paw prints, through my wet watercolor paints onto my clients painting or drawings… The other, if it is an inside/outside cat, is they like to bring you “treats” or “Gifts” from their hunting outings, and leave the in places where you are most likely to almost step on the dead mice, rabbits or birds… and when they are young hunters, sometimes these gifts are still alive, how often I had a flying bird, chipmunk or mouse running around my studio just makes me laugh some, as all of my cats I have had where great hunters… But the look on a clients face, when suddenly there is a flying bird in my studio, with a cat trying to re-catch it is just too funny to describe… But having them there to curl up in your lap, and the enjoyment a pet gives is just too hard to truly describe in words alone…

In his later years when he was 11, I got a 2nd Saint Bernard puppy, knowing that training it would be easier with a well trained dog to follow and learn from… This is the same Saint Bernard I have now, which I have had the pleasure of watching her even have puppies since… This one was a bit more challenging, and I learned that I needed to train her as to what not to chew… She instead chose to get into my paintbrushes, tubes of watercolor paint, paw prints on my drawing table and what ever artwork happened to be on it at the time and once even chewed on my Macintosh PowerBook, coughing up keys all night long… And now since Marley’s passing, have kept the runt of her litter… Seeing all have had the same things in common, eating snow, making paths in it, and barrowing my firewood in the snow drifts… He has even enticed me to keep some notes and sketches of him and come up with the beginning of a childrens Book, “Marley Goes Camping”…

Even though I did have a couple challenging times that are now funny to tell about, having an office mascot is great… I believed that not only should one have an office mascot to keep you company on long days of working at the old drawing board, or computer, but was great for spending time with doing work around the family farm, or off fishing and hiking… Giving you a reason to step away from your work to take a bit of a break, a healthy walk with fresh air to think or contemplate, and to enjoy some time off from work…

They aren’t the best at answering phone calls, or taking notes, and defiantly not great at helping do work, but they will give you undivided attention and companionship that sometimes when working by yourself is truly needed… I highly recommend getting a cat or a dog for an Office Mascot…

7 Responses

  1. Thank you for another excellent post. Keep rocking.

    • Thank you Beverly, will keep on working hard to keep new articles being posted…

  2. I like the layout of your blog and I’m going to do the same thing for mine. Do you have any tips? Please PM ME on yahoo @ AmandaLovesYou702

    • I do like the layout of this theme, though might look for another to better work with the different categories I have and what I want to do with the blog in the future… Still am looking into and reworking ideas… But for a recommendation, find a good photo you did yourself to use as the top image…

  3. Great content thanks for the post please post more things relating to this!

    • Thank you Gloria Carro for enjoying the entry… I def will be adding more about my office Mascot’s, and prob next time will include some photos of them;)

    • I will and have, adding a new one recently, “Dogs, Laughter and the Abominable Snowman…”

Leave a Reply

