Computers are Dyslexic, thinking in Pictures…

I am dyslexic, but it hasn’t been until recently that I started to really enjoy and take advantage of my thinking as being a Gift… Though I had huge problems with writing, spelling and reading in elementary all the way through to College, I was often able to over compensate for it through talking, using hands and or images to explain my ideas or express what I was learning…

When I try to explain my thoughts now, how I see them inside my head, I tell people it is like a Macintosh Operating system except not in a monitor, but inside my head, and not flat, as I can walk into each of the windows, and turn things around in 3D, and also can relate sounds, smells, sounds of voices and sometimes even taste to my memories or relating them as I think or contemplate ideas or questions…

It is no wonder Steve Jobs, of Apple Computer, helped in designing what we now know as the Visual Operating System, as he is also dyslexic, and sees in his head pictures and not words… This idea he took and put the idea of this into an operating system, and related it to a “Desktop” concept, using documents, folders and file… He basically helped design an operating system on how a dyslexic person sees and thinks inside their heads, then put it into a computer monitor and related it to an office atmosphere…

Often when I read a word, like “Corn” in my head I see multiple images of photos or moving pictures of things I relate tot his word, but not the letters… I see in my minds eye a corn cob, a kernel of corn, a corn stock, a corn husk, fields of corn, rows of corn, buttery corn on the cob with salt (which for a moment the taste of corn touches my mouth), Corn kernel with a root growing out of it then it’s first leaf, and so on… All of these images float through my head with just seeing one word- “Corn”… If I was to just see the word Corn, the images would continue to things relating to “Corn”- like hand falls of corn kernels, grinding dried corn, animal feed corn, corn silage for feeding cows, Corn chips, Corn taco shells, Corn Flakes, and so on… Some having more tastes hitting my mouth or even memories of smells added to the images…

When reading a sentence, the pictures become so many, each finding a link to the other, as the words of the sentence is read, some form of logic to linking all of these images together into one large photo or moving image which then equals the sentence’s meaning…

The visual operating system of today’s computers and the Internet offer the same all in one monitor screen, relating all of these images and ideas through a search engine, shown in one screen of over lapping windows… Very much how a dyslexic person thinks inside of their heads…

Even though I accelerated in college through art, drawing, ceramics and photography, I probably would have flunked out without the help of the Macintosh Computer, Microsoft Word and spell check for my written papers…

The internet and the modern day computer are so very close to how a dyslexic person thinks, and often “Normal people view this as being ingénues, but I would guess to most dyslexic people, it seems like just an extension of their own thinking abilities and find themselves very easily learning how it all works…

So next time you hear someone say they are dyslexic, remember, they just see and imagine things in their heads a different way then 90% of the people do, they think in pictures… Look to their picture image solving minds and try to think of other things to have them problem solve or work on then just their writing abilities…

Leave a Reply

