Dyslexia and Thyroids- Thoughts through Pictures and Images

The last few months I have been having some problems with my health, my thyroid levels, and finding a doctor that would listen… I’ve known and been being treated for thyroid problems now since 1990, now 20 years… It took two years recently and three doctors to finally find one who would listen, and this includes going to the ER when they where so low I was showing signs of slipping into a Wyxedema Coma…

So the last few months my health was not the greatest, needing to rest, and having problems falling asleep without notice and not thinking what I call “Clearly”… But while I have been resting to get healthy again, having found a good doctor who listens, I had some time to also really try to look at how I was thinking, while off the medication and slowing getting back to my correct levels and compare it also to knowing I think different, I’m Dyslexic too…

While I have been healing and recuperating from a very low thyroid level, I also had a chance to look into Thyroid problems and Dyslexia… It has been some interesting reading, about thyroid problems and my dyslexia, as the low thyroid problems with it being so low, had a major effect on my ability to think clearly, besides other physical problems…

Dyslexia appears to be more common in families in which someone has had Thyroid problems or disease than in the general population. Though these children are usually very bright, poor academic performance is not uncommon and may lead to loss of self-esteem. The condition occurs more commonly in males than females, and affected children are often left-handed or ambidextrous. So if your child seems to be learning things slowly, or family history with thyroid problems, there might be needing some blood testing along with different kinds of teaching methods…

In school I remember having lots of challenges with reading writing and spelling, though I excelled in the Arts, Math and Science classes… I do remember my first grade, my teacher putting my left hand into my belt, as I was practicing letter writing, the same letter on each line, with meeting in the middle, using both hands to fill in the line space with the letters, or would switch from one hand to the other when we started putting the letters into words and sentences…

But in high school, the doctor found my thyroid was “over sized” and I remember many visits to the doctor’s office in town between 9th and 12th grade for thyroid blood tests, … But I made it through school healthy and somehow made it through English and spelling classes and onto art college but it wasn’t until college that the thyroid became a problem, and I needed to get it controlled by the doctor…

I do remember while in Boston, I was working at a one-hour film-developing store, and was always looking at film nagitives, then the photos… I found I could read the negatives or reflections in windows just as easy of the signs across the street as to look at then forward… But so much time looking at all backwards in the film negatives, I found suddenly it was harder to read forward, so started to make sure I read out of a book 2 hours a day…

I remember the 1st Doc saying- “Thyroid’s control the hormones to all the glands in your body, including the ones in your brain, making memory and thought ability challenged, like literally not sending enough electricity to a light bulb…

“Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world.” – Albert Einstein

Being a visual thinker, I gravitated toward the Arts, Graphic design, Photography, Illustration, Art Education and Ceramics… Though was challenged in all writing classes or project grades all the way through college I accelerated with visuals arts… I Went to a small Junior college in Boston for Graphic Design, then transfer and graduated from Syracuse University VPA program with a dual major in Illustration and Art Education, with combined 194 credits, Dual Degree of Bachelors of Fine Arts…

While at Syracuse University, I started to have problems with thinking, gaining weight, my grades seemed to go down some, and I was becoming very tired all the time and even my dreams seemed to no longer be there…. At about the same time this was happening, I had picked up a second major of Art Education and one of the professors was worried I was having problems writing lesson plans… The head of the Art Education department read my lessons plans and knew my art abilities, felt I might be dyslexic, and should be tested… I was tested in college for this and corrected the thyroid during the same period that I was being tested for being Dyslexic, which included IQ tests. Having low level of thyroid and once the correct level was found- lets say- the difference in the IQ tests scores from beginning to end was a substantial increase… During this same period, it was obvious my grades started to go up as my thyroid level came close to the correct level…

When I think, in my head I picture many images, even reading a word I see in my head many images of just a word, in photos or sometimes moving images, that I can spin around and view from different angels… But at the same time, there are many images, more like the windows on a computer, some having movement, some sounds, smells relating to images, able to look and link many together into visual problem solving, or figuring out how to draw or relate those images to drawings or ways to communicate my ideas… It is almost like windows that float, inner connecting, layer upon layer of images, and a 3D computer screen of multi tasking… But without the thyroid levels being correct, my thoughts became flat, black and white and fuzzy, had to relate them together, and a challenge to remember words, having to re-read or rewrite things over and over…

Dyslexic people are intuitive, highly intelligent and creative individuals who are visual, multi-dimensional thinkers. But because they think in pictures, they have troubles when it comes to letters, numbers, symbols, and written words. When speaking, they encounter difficulties in putting thoughts into words, speak in unfinished phrases and leave sentences incomplete, mispronounces long words, modify phrases, words, and syllables. 10% of the dyslexic disorders develop abnormal ways of writing and reading: they reverse words by writing letters back to front (also known as “mirror writing” – the writing appears backwards, but when reflected in a mirror it can be read), they are not able to remember the sequence of letters in a word or sometimes read from right to left… There are many now who view people with dyslexia with being “Gifted” and relate many have high IQ’s and many who are Genius’s in history who where Dyslexic…

So for now, I am just a couple months away from being back to correct thyroid level and being mentally and physically healthy, while slowly getting back into both physical and mental work… Will be slowly getting back into finishing weather damage done to my studio and renovations to the farmhouse and around the property, prepping it to sell… Also while recuperating, will be working on Blog entries, writing articles, working on my internet café with a micro business incubator business plan and lessons and slowly on my business website and the services I will be offering…

Some great websites to visit I highly recommend are:

http://dyslexia.tv/ , http://dearthyroid.org/

http://www.dyslexia.com/ Buy the Book: Dyslexia the Gift

Leave a Reply

