Dreams of Piazza Campo de’ Fiori

People doing their morning shopping of fresh fruits, fish and vegetables of so many colors and shapes, the smell of fresh breads from the corner shop also fills the air of Piazza Campo de’ Fiori… Looking down into an orange juice that is red, and double espresso beside it, my senses roar hearing a sound that fills the plaza that shouldn’t be there… Piazza Campo de' Fiori Market

Kids running, their shear enjoyment heard but not understood, click, click sounds the camera as someone takes photos of a lone hooded statue, so many people talking all around and still there seems that one noise that shouldn’t be there, Buzz, Buzz, Buzz, slowly getting louder…

Slowly my eyes seem to open, the people suddenly gone, colors of fruit, and many stands with umbrella’s now disappear, the smell of fresh bread and fruits starts to slip away, though still the smell of vanilla seems to linger a moment longer, as if grasping to hold my breath to keep it for one more moment longer… I reach over to shut the alarm off, wishing for dreams again to take me back to a beautiful time, of memories once upon a time now past…

Now the house smells of the first espresso, the dogs and their happy breakfast dance now done, the runt outside, his mother asleep at my feet and time to work upon goals and dreams, an internet café, the networking of professionals that one can’t meet in a town with no stop light… Daily working hard planning, designing creating upon my goals and dreams, to allow the possibility to return and sit again, enjoying a red orange juice with a double espresso and look out upon the Piazza Campo de’ Fiori someday…

2 Responses

  1. I loved it.. you created a moment for me and i’ve drifted for a moment in your memory remember a time when my grandpa took me to have a bag of cherries it was sunny and hot and the sun had been beating on the bag of cherries i took one into my mouth and it was so warm and tasty they’ve never tasted better since that day. – Thank you again for sharing these moments with me.

    • Sarah,
      I’m glad you have enjoyed my writing, something I have been practicing on for years… It finally started to work when I thought to describe in words the pictures, memories and feelings in my head, and try to use words like paint upon a canvas to paint a description with words instead of paint… I’m happy it gave you memories of sharing times with your Grandfather, special times like that are priceless!!!

      Charles

Leave a Reply

