Dogs, Laughter and the Abominable Snowman…

Cool droplets of dew fall between my toes, as I watch my furry companions romp, run and chase each other in a morning frolic through the dew laden grass and weeds in the side yard between the house and the barn on this overcast Windsor & Newton slightly foggy morning…

As I sit upon a log that I had dropped last fall that I hadn’t yet finished cutting into 22” long lengths for hauling to my log splitter for firewood… I laugh some as Saxy came running at full speed, leaping in sear beauty of body in motion clearing the 22” thick log with no problem at all… She being a Saint Bernard and now five years old, a master of her long legs in the ability to run with long strides that clear 9-12 feet in each bound of sear enjoyment of speed, a sight to see for a large dog…

This is when I start to laugh… Snowy who is a year and a half old and won’t reach full maturity for another year, still very much in his puppy mode… He wanting and trying so hard to keep up with him mother seems to get wide-eyed at the sight of the log, slows some, almost to a stop, then jumps up, paws first on top of the log, hind legs catching up, then leaps off in his fiendish attempt to catch up with his mother… The two round around the path I have towards the back of the old pasture behind the barn, rounding the corner, then seeming both there attention seems to focus on more then the joy of their game of speed, running and ear-tag…

As I sit straddling the maple tree log enjoying sipping my first mug of espresso… Spring is here and I am in shorts and enjoying my sandals and the feel of the cool dew between my toes… The morning air is full of the sounds of the morning songs of birds, as they seem to call out their happiness of the morning light and beginning of the day… Further back behind the barn, into my wetlands I can also hear the sound of the several pairs of geese honking their good mornings to each other…

Suddenly I can see Saxy seem to stand up on her hind legs some, looking through the tall weeds to one side closer to the barn, at something that caught her attention… Snowy didn’t seem to notice the movement in the tall grass, yet… He piles into Snowy in a leap of playful enjoyment, nipping at her ears some as all dogs seem to do in this game of dogs love to play…

What Saxy attention is caught on is one of the rabbits that lives behind the barn… Suddenly I see a new game start, as the movement in the grass ten feet away from Saxy starts to make the tall grass… A zigzag line and pursuit of this new game of “Catch the Rabbit, or as I like to call with these players- “Wabbit” in an “Elmer Fudd” cartoon character way…

Warner Bros. Looney Tunes animated cartoon Character- The Abominable Snowman

They both speed off again in a faster more excited form of running, trying to catch the Wabbit… Winning this game, the Wabbit finds his hole under an old large maple tree stump, and then the two pursuers sit there intently staring down the Wabbit-Hole… I call it “Wabbit” in this as I think to Warner Brothers’ Looney Tunes animated cartoon of the Abominable Snowman… How the Abominable Snowman catches Donald Duck in a make shift hat with ears, thinking he is a a rabbit say’s; “Ahhh a Cute Little Bunny Wabbit”, than he says; “I will name you George and will hug him, pet him and squeeze him”… Thinking to the Saint Bernard’s in this sense more like the Abominable Snowman, as they aren’t hunting dogs… How I laugh thinking and seeing this sight…

Ahhhh, the love, enjoyment and laughter of having dogs that fills one’s soul…

Leave a Reply

