Are you marketing your products towards Woman online?

Are you aiming your advertising more to women then men, maybe you should be…

In an attempt to become a better and up to date online marketer, I dove into marketing statistics, online use, buying trend stats, and online user information… What I found was very interesting!!! If you’re a man, and doing web designing, graphics, marketing and branding and/or advertising you better be thinking and trying to understand how Woman view sales and marketing, or think to get some other job!!!

As an artist and marketer in designing websites and creating advertising and custom images the need to understanding how the Internet has changed since it was created in 1989 has been a major part of my research- always try to keep up to date on trends… What I found in my research was very enlightening and has forced me to change some of my views and future research and the way I need to look for designing websites and images online…

Now I am a guy and some might even put me in that “Guy’s Guy” category, as I enjoy hunting, fishing, camping, hiking, mountain biking, car racing, driving fast, watching action movies and working with power tools … On an average afternoon & weekend in the fall, you will find me in the woods hunting or in my side yard using a Chainsaw and a log splitter for firewood for my home and studio… I can also be found on my off time doing carpentry, renovations to my house redoing or building things in my woodshop or on my property… So I know I understand marketing to men, but I know that I need to think to “How to Marketing to Women”…

In an attempt to get into this line of thinking or understanding how woman think, besides looking up and spending many hours reading and goggling stats, I tried a different in-depth look into the female mind from a man’s view- I threw in the 2000 American Romantic Comedy film DVD “What Woman Want” starring Mel Gibson and Helen Hunt. Though I was not going to go so in-depth in my research as to put on toe popping red high heal stiletto shoes, nylons, makeup, miniskirt and wax my legs- I’m devoted but I am not that crazy!!!

I will admit there is a photo from my senior year of high school of my wearing a miniskirt for Powder Puff Football, where the girls wear pads and the men dress as cheerleaders and a few of my friends and I did…  I have told people that I won’t do this again until I get a chance to go to visit the land of my heritage, being a highlander of Ireland and Scotland areas… Only then I will buy a Kilt and be proud of my heritage, but a kilt is not a miniskirt!!! And NO, don’t even ask me what a Scotsmen wears under his Kilt!!!

So with wanting to understand How Woman think, I sat and watched the movie over and over… Yes it was a great movie to laugh with and at, as a “Man’s Man” gets zapped and somehow can hear the thoughts of woman in his mind… The movie is interesting as it truly shows how women think a bit different then men do… So I used this movie as a foundation leap into my understanding the mindset of Woman, before to start the research part of numbers and trying to understand how woman make their choices in why or how they buy things…

I highly recommend talking to woman online and in person, what and how they make their choices and whom they talk to in making these choices… I also recommend being ready to talk- ask questions and learn how woman make their choices, or sit back and watch how women communicate with each other… It is very different then how men tend to make choices in buying things… Women tend to like to see choices and make choices by what they like, more then by function or use, as most men tend to buy by… Men tend to make choices on what they need more by function, need and then cost and often don’t shop around… Women on the other hand will often shop around for the best price, and if they feel they got a Great price on an item, they will tell their friends… Men tend not to brag about the price as much as the function…

Women account for 85% of all Consumer Purchases in the US, including anything from autos to sneakers to computers… So if your into Marketing, Web or Graphics Design, Advertising or Branding Online, and you’re a “man”, you truly need to try to get into the mind set and understanding of what and why women buy things online and how they are influenced to come to their choices…

Women represent the majority of the online market:

* Digital Divas By The Numbers:*

• 22% shop online at least once a day
• 92% pass along information about deals or finds to others
• 171: average number of contacts in their e-mail or mobile lists
• 76% want to be part of a special or select panel
• 58% would toss a TV if they had to get rid of one digital device (only 11% would ditch their laptops)
• 51% are moms
*Mindshare/Ogilvy & Mather

If you aren’t aiming your advertising, imaging and changing your marketing techniques more towards women then men, adding more clear photos of the items or even video or turn around panoramic of the items you are marketing online, maybe you should be…

2 Responses

  1. Glad to see you recognizing the purchasing power of women Charles. Thank you!

  2. It’s true. We help one another as well!

Leave a Reply

